Nettle Infusion

Standard

So I have read about infusions.  Most of my herbalist gurus drink them on a daily basis.  They boast how nutritious they are, so how could I not give them a try.  Last night I decided to make a Nettle Infusion.  Here’s how I did it:
1 oz dried Nettle
Enough hot water to fill a quart jar

Add your Nettle to your quart jar.  Then boil enough water to fill it to the threads.  I place a butter knife in the jar before I add the water.  This is said to help keep the jar from cracking.  I filled my jar with water and added the top and left it overnight.  It seeped for about 8 hours.  This is what it looked like when I woke up this morning

I strained the infusion (making sure to squeeze out all the nutrients) into a bowl.  I rinsed out my quart jar, added the infusion and 2 tbsp of honey and put it in the fridge.

I filled my water bottle full and headed to work.  It wasn’t too bad.  Now I happen to be a tea drinker, if you aren’t I think you may have a hard time drinking this.  It has a pretty strong hay-like flavor.  I am not sure if I could do this everyday (one, because 1 oz of dried herbs is a lot of herb, but two, I like variety).  I am going to do some research on other good herbs for infusion.  So why drink water when you can drink herbs?

About littleherbal

I am a gal who lives in a small town who believes that everything we put in our bodies effects us. I recently became very interested in herbalism and a more natural way of life. This is a place where I explore herbs and herbal remedies. This blog is in no way intended to treat, cure, or diagnose any medical issues or conditions. This blog is intended as information only for those also interested in this way of life.

Leave a Reply

