Beeswax

Standard

I use a lot of beeswax in my balms, lotions, candles, and soaps.  And, I always try to use my local beekeepers as a source.  I was happy when I stumbled upon a new seller at my local farmers market who had 1 jar of fresh beeswax for sale.  You can’t get any better than that.  Now for those of you who have only used pre-strained and molded beeswax the original product looks a bit different.  Example A: So what do I do to make it usable?  Start by melting it down like this:

I place the beeswax in a pan and heat it over low heat.  You could also do this in a crock pot if you have to melt a lot of it.  As you can see there is particulates (pollen, bee parts), honey, and wax that come out of this.  Once it is completely melted I pour it through a strainer into a bowl and let it set like this:
The particulates and the honey sink to the bottom and the wax hardens on the top.  I peel off the wax melt it down and strain one more time but this time use a Pyrex dish.  While it’s still warm I pour it into molds through the strainer and allow to harden 1 more time like this:

Each little nugget is .3 oz and is particulate free, honey free, and beautiful usable beeswax.  ❤ it!  It’s a bit of work but you can’t get any fresher than that.  The honey that was left over was delicious too!

– Namaste

About littleherbal

I am a gal who lives in a small town who believes that everything we put in our bodies effects us. I recently became very interested in herbalism and a more natural way of life. This is a place where I explore herbs and herbal remedies. This blog is in no way intended to treat, cure, or diagnose any medical issues or conditions. This blog is intended as information only for those also interested in this way of life.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

